About the Committee

The Heysen Sculpture Biennial is managed by the Heysen Sculpture Biennial Inc. which is a not for profit Incorporated Association. A volunteer committee of professional visual artists and lovers of contemporary visual arts manages the Heysen Sculpture Biennial Inc.

ABN: 25 815 832 116

The members of the Heysen Sculpture Biennial Inc committee are mostly practicing visual artists and are all volunteers who have donated their time and skills.

Allan Campbell - Heysen Curator

Allan Campbell is manager of The Cedars, The Estate of the Artist Hans Heysen, and curator of collections of both Hans and Nora Heysen. Allan acted as committee chair until 2012, and is the Public Officer of Heysen Sculpture Biennial Inc.

Penny Choate

Penny is a painter who occasionally works three-dimensionally. She has exhibited consistently since the 1980s and has been a committee member since the inception of the event.

Rick Clise

Rick is a mid-career visual artist. Prior to establishing his visual arts practice Rick worked in a variety of industries with a major career in Information Technology. Rick joined the HSB committee in 2012 and is its Chairperson.

Ian Hamilton

Ian is a visual artist, occasional curator and writer. He joined the Heysen Sculpture Biennial committee in 2015.

Catherine Hewitt

Catherine's art practice is initiated by her shoreline fossicking and subsequent investigation of the science behind those collections. A Masters in Visual Art and qualifications in graphic design underpin her mixed media works on paper. Catherine joined the HSB committee in 2013.

David Kerr

David is a South Australian artist who has taken his practice into related fields of education, administration, curation, urban design, and exhibition design for over 30 years. He has mounted 6 solo exhibitions, contributed to over 100 group shows, completed numerous commissioned works, curated several exhibitions and designed over thirty museum exhibitions and galleries. His work has been presented to local, regional, national and international audiences. His art practice is generally based in object making, although formative experience as a conceptual artist has led to work in varied media and art forms. His areas of investigation have been environmental, archaeological, museological, political and speculative. David joined the HSB committee in 2015.

Max Lyle

Max is a sculptor working with a variety of mixed media combined with welded & cast metals. Solo sculpture exhibitions and commissions in Australia and  South East Asia are prominent features of his artistic practice since the 1960s. A monograph by Ken Scarlett about Max’s sculpture “Journeys with Sculpture" was published in 2015.

Robin (Heysen) McLaughlin

Robin, grand-daughter of Hans Heysen and part owner of The Cedars, managed a specialist medical practice for many years and has accounting qualifications. She joined the HSB committee in 2012 and is Treasurer of the committee.

Nicholas Uhlmann

Nicholas Uhlmann is a mid-career sculptor living and working in the Adelaide Hills. Nicholas has devoted the last twenty years to a studio practice, developing a unique sculptural language through the creation of a large body of work that has included miniatures to large scale public sculptures. He has held ten solo shows and exhibited in over fifty group shows and outdoor sculpture awards throughout Australia and overseas. Nick joined the HSB committee in 2017.

Paula York

Language and literature were at the heart of her working life and she continues to advise, edit and write in various capacities. Paula is a life member of The Hills Montessori School and has served several terms on both its Board and that of The Hahndorf Academy. Paula joined the HSB committee in 2012 and is Secretary of the committee.